marker on calendar

Holy Days of Obligation

The Holy See has set ten days of the year as Holy Days of Obligation. A Holy Day of Obligation is a day in which all Catholics are required to attend Mass to celebrate a particular occasion in the faith.
Holy Days of Obligation can vary from country to country because bishops are free to set their own holy days with the approval of the Vatican. Below are the ten Holy Days of Obligation as prescribed by Rome (check with your local parish or diocese regarding the obligation for these days):

  1. Christmas
  2. Epiphany
  3. Ascension
  4. The Body and Blood of Christ (Corpus Christi)
  5. Mary, Mother of God
  6. Immaculate Conception
  7. Assumption
  8. St. Joseph
  9. Saints Peter & Paul
  10. All Saints

1 thought on “Holy Days of Obligation”

  1. I thought it would be important to show the correct Holy days of Obligation. Here is the link to the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops list of Holy Days.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *